Skip to content

Snow Running – Keeping warm when it gets cold!

January 18, 2012

It’s beginning to look a lot like winter! I love getting out and hitting the trails right after a light snowfall. It’s so peaceful and serene. Just me, my thoughts, and fresh powder everywhere I look.

Today I went for a quick jaunt through Lake Sammamish State Park and took the Scenic Route to get to enjoy the views. It was awesome! Not a fast run, mind you…. but I did get out and run 5 miles around the park.

Keeping warm when it cools down

So how does one dress for snow running? Warmly! It was 38 when I started my run and here’s the gear I used:

Image

Gear:

  • CW-X Insulated Running Tights
  • Sports Bra Running Tank Top & long sleeved dry-wick shirt
  • North Face light weight Zip-up Hoodie
  • Thick Knee High Wool Socks, and my REI Gators (to keep the snow out of my shoes)

Shoes on the Run: Kinvara 2

Route: Issaquah/ Lake Sammamish State Park

The gators weren’t meant to keep your feet warm, but they did a great job keeping them dry and keeping the deeper snow from getting into the shoes. My feet stayed toasty dry the entire run!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

