Skip to content

Hazelnut-Lemon Vinaigrette Recipe

March 6, 2012

hazelnut-final_1After discovering Emerald City Salad at my local Issaquah PCC I started trying to recreate it at home. One of the things that I loved the most about this salad is the light and fresh vinaigrette. I spoke with the women behind the counter to find out how they make it there in the store and she gave me the framework for the recipe, 1 part oil, 1 part water, 1 part lemon juice, a dallop of honey or agave syrup, and salt & pepper to taste. I took the framework they provided and started tweaking it to highlight the ingredients I choose for my dressing.

In our PCC they were using SunFlower oil which I didn’t have so I marched down the oil and vinegar aisle and I stumbled across a canister of La Tourangelle Roasted Hazelnut Oil sitting directly above the Sunflower oil. Oh My. That sounds delightful. Despite the slightly high price, I bought it and decided to use it instead of the Sunflower oil and it’s a substitution that I have loved ever since! It’s got a light nutty flavor that pairs very very well with the rich deep greens in the Emerald City Salad. The hazelnut oil was also a perfect compliment to my Yam Gnocchi’s. Go ahead, splurge a little bit. This is $10 well spent for the Hazelnut oil.

How have you used Hazelnut Oil in cooking?

Hazelnut-Lemon Vinaigrette:

Cookware:

  • Small bowl
  • Wisk
  • Sealable Container (for left overs)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup Roasted Hazelnut Oil
  • 1/2 cup warm water
  • 1 cup Lemon Juice
  • 1 TBLSPN Honey
  • Fresh Ground Pepper (to taste)
  • Sea Salt or Truffle Salt (to taste)

Instructions:

  • Mix all ingredients in a small bowl and wisk them together until they are thoroughly blended.
  • Store in a Sealable container in the refrigerator.
From → Recipes

Leave a Reply

