Skip to content

Day of Race: Mt Si 50 Mile Trail Run

April 22, 2012

So I did it. I was crazy enough in January to sign up for a 50 mile trail run and time quickly passed by until I realized that I had 7 days until race day.

GULP, 7 Days until I’m going to be running for (hopefully less than) 12 hours straight AND 50 miles. This isn’t my first 50 mile rodeo, but it does mark a first for me — a first time to run it without a major break. I had an advantage at the Cactus Rose… I had a 6 1/2 hour break and a 3 hour nap. This time I’m going to do it without stopping and within the 12 hour cut-off.

Day of Race:

  • It’s 4 am, and I can’t get back to sleep. I’ve got that nervous energy that happens before a big race. I have friends who live in Snoqualamie and I was lucky enough to get to crash at their house so I’m only 5 minutes from the starting line. I vied for the early start at 5 am — and I’ve still got an hour before I have to be in.

292506_10150744540672211_1938941478_nIt’s now 5 am and I’m at the Snoqualamie Elementary School with about 15 other 50 milers who are taking the early start. I’ve dropped my bags off at the check-in station and getting ready to go! I’m glad to see so many other people at the early start and am hoping that I’ll find 2-3 runners in my target pace range of 9:30 – 10 minutes per mile for the first 15 miles of the course. 🙂

I’ve got to put my iPad down and get ready to begin this Rodeo! I’ll update my race report as soon as I cross the finish line and take a nice good, long, and well deserved soak in tub and a nap!

At 5:10 the assistant race director pulled us all over to the road and outlined the first two and a half miles to the course to get us ready to go. He sent his son out with us for the first few turns and then left to our own accord…. Now it’s up to me to keep up with the pack of runners in the early start group,  Kristin, Sam, and Linda.

See you on the other side of 50!

From → Races, Ultra

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

