Skip to content

Smokey Flavored Blackening Season Blend

January 5, 2013

blackening-spice-blend

 

I like to cook and occasionally I like to make my own spice blends… This is one of my go to blends for just about any type of meat and for veggies too. Sometime between 2007 and 2009 Cooking Light had an issue that featured Blackening Rubs and Cajun style spice blends. I tore the page out and made a massive blend of the blackening rub and we love love loved it. I then managed to loose the Cooking Light recipe and recreated it from scratch and make minor variations of this blend at least once every 2-3 months. When I’m trying to reduce my sodium in take I cut the Salt back from 1.5 tsp to 1 tsp and I’ve even substituted brown sugar for salt.

My favorite uses for this blend are to add some umph to Tilipia, Pork Loin, and Chicken. It’s great for grilling and pan frying to give a smokey flavor to your meats. I also use a dash of it on cucumber slices to give a smokey flavor that complements the crisp refreshing cucumber. So onto the main event. The recipe itself that can help you take a plain chicken breast and make it sing.

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 tsp Salt (Sea Salt gives the best flavor)
  • 0.5 tsp Fresh Ground Pepper
  • 2 tsp Ground Cumin
  • 1 tsp Chili Powder
  • 2 tsp Garlic Powder or Onion Powder
  • 1 tsp Paprika
  • 1 tsp Lilys Chilies Mild Spice Mix or 1 tsp Cayenne Powder

Directions:

Blend all ingredients together and store in an airtight container.

Yield: ~ 1.5 dry ounces of Seasoning Blend

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

