Skip to content

Being Sore Sucks (or How to get motivated to get off the couch when you’re sore)

January 13, 2013

I don’t want to go out and run today. I’m sore. My muscles hurt and it’s cold.I know that I’m going to get my butt kicked on Tuesday and Thursday evening at ABK’s “Combine” workout that’s an awful lot like CrossFit and that I’ll spend Wednesday and Friday wishing for a massage. I’m still sore from Thursday’s workout and the one yesterday morning was evil. I’m pretty sure that CrossFit / The Combine is code or another language for one hour of squats and lunges. It’s not natural. I would prefer to slowly run up a 10% grade for 2-3 miles. 

I’m sore. It sucks. My husband is laughing at me on the couch as I write this…. He finds it amusing. He is giggling like a little school girl.

But alas, the only way I’m going to get under a 1:50 half marathon and hopefully a 4:15 Marathon is to log the miles and do the work now, even when I don’t feel like it. Boo. But I guess the positive way to look at it, sore muscles mean I must be starting to get back into shape. 

Now… I just have to get the husband to go to massage school for his LMP so I can get massages here at the house. But that’s not going to happen anytime soon, so I guess I’m going to have to settle for a long cold run and a foam roller ball. 

Happy Sunday!

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

