Skip to content

Chia Seed Juice Drink Recipe

January 13, 2013

I’m always on the look out for different foods and beverages that can help me in my running endeavors. When I bumped up my mileage from the half marathon to the full marathon and then the full marathon to the Ultra Marathon distances I found myself trying to find additional foods to help sustain me.

Mamma-Chia-btl-cherry

Mamma Chia: The original Chia drink

Chia Seeds: The Original Runners Food

At an Evergreen Trail Runs event in March Mamma Chia was present and giving our free samples of their juice for us runners to try post race. I started investigating the health benefits of Chia and I was amazed that more distance runners weren’t using this to keep hydrated out on the course and after races.

The origin of the chia seed, derived from the Salvia hispanica plant of the mint family, is believed to be in Central America where it was a staple of the ancient Aztec diet. Chia seeds were thought to sustain Aztec messengers on long runs and therefore dubbed “running food.”

Health Benefits of Chia Seeds

Chia seeds are a valuable source of nutrients, protein and oil. According to the USDA, a one ounce (28 gram) serving of chia seeds contains 9 grams of fat, 5 milligrams of sodium, 11 grams of dietary fiber and 4 grams of protein.
“In terms of nutritional content, a tablespoon of chia is like a smoothie made from salmon, spinach, and human growth hormone. As tiny as those seeds are, they’re superpacked with Omega-3s, protein, calcium, iron, zinc, fiber and antioxidants. If you had to pick just one desert-island food, you couldn’t do much better than chia, at least if you were interested in building muscle, lowering cholesterol, and reducing your risk of heart disease; after a few months on the chia diet, you could probably swim home.”  – Christopher McDougall, Born to Run

  • Five times more calcium than milk
  • Raw, vegan, and gluten-free
  • An excellent source of dietary fiber
  • No trans fat
  • No preservatives
  • Rich in antioxidants (similar to the amount of antioxidants as Blueberries)
  • A rich natural source of plant-based omega 3’s
  • Can absord between 9 – 12x their weight in water

chia-seeds-detail-300x286

I love the Mamma Chia juice drinks, but more often than not my budget is fairly tight and I have a hard time justifying spending $3-$4 for an energy juice drink. So I do the next best thing. I make it myself. The juice drink is so easy to make I’m pretty sure a 2 year old could do it. I love that the chia seeds are essentially tasteless so they will absorb the flavor of whatever they mixed into. Lately I’ve been drinking a Guava & Mint Tea chia fruit drink for breakfast in the mornings. Sometimes I grind my chia seeds up and add it to my coffee. The options are endless.

So now to the good stuff. The recipes! I’m still working on different Chia Seed Energy Bars and will have a separate post later this spring with different options. My friends will be the taste testers and I’ll also get a few Ultra Marathon runners to participate in the test to get their opinions too! Let me know what you think.

Superfoods: Chia Juice Drink Recipe

  • 12 oz (1 cup) of your favorite fruit juice or juice/tea blend
  • 1/4 cup Chia Seeds

Instructions:  Mix chia seeds into water. Stir or shake vigorously for 30-60 seconds. Let the mixture sit for 2-3 minutes. Then stir or shake vigorously again for 30-60 seconds.  Place in an airtight container. Basic Chia Gel can be stored in the fridge for up to two weeks.

Basic Chia Gel Recipe:

  • 2 cups liquid (water, milk, fruit juice)
  • 1/3 Cup Chia Seeds

Basic Chia Gel uses:

If you make this gel with water it will be tasteless, if you mix it with fruit juice it will taste like that fruit juice. You can incorporate this gel into any liquid or semi-liquid food such as pudding, salad dressing, soup, jam, yogurt, cereal or dips.

2 Comments
  1. Federal Meth Attorney In Fort Bend County, Tx permalink

    Useful. I agree.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Chia Energy Bars Recipe « Christi Olson: Running my life one step at a time

Leave a Reply

