Skip to content

Running on Empty: Balancing blogging, working, and working out

March 23, 2013

March has been me running around like a chicken with it’s head cut off. I’ve been terrible at getting my 3x/week workouts in which means I’ve been slacking off on my running as well as blogging!
The last two months have just been crazy busy and I took the advice of our Pastor, Mike Howerton, about creating MARGIN in my life so that I’m not always running on empty. I stepped back from the blog in order to get my sanity back and not spend all day on a computer for work and all evening on computer doing blogging.

So what’s on my mind right now: Margin and work-life balance

I’ve spent a lot of time this month trying to figure out what I want from my personal life and career. Then I spent several days praying and trying to figure out how to get where I want to go. I’m a strong proponent of the saying that

“Failure to plan is planning to Fail.”

So I’ve been working on my plan and making some minor adjustments and a few big adjustments. The big adjustment is that we’re moving. AGAIN. This time back to Seattle. Jason found a job, which will make him happy again. He’s been miserable not working and dreaming about going back to work. So for me it means a career change. It’s exciting I have a new opportunity at an amazing company to take what I’ve learned in all my past jobs and then some room for growth and development. I can’t write much about it yet, but the updates will be coming. 🙂 So what does this have to do with MARGIN and worklife balance. Margin is all about work life balance. It’s about creating a plan — a loose plan — that has steps that will help me get to where I want to be, and then adjusting all of my activities so that I’m not stretching myself so thin that I’m not leaving time for my husband or myself.

That’s what I’ve been looking at. I love being a member of the Junior League, but I’m going to have to choose between the Junior League and Rotary…. or being on a non-profit board, which is something I want to do. 🙂 It means that I have to make trade-offs between taking on extra work assignments to prove myself and my extra curricular activities like running, cross fit and sewing. It’s tough, I’m not going to lie, but it’s the only way for me to regain control of my life and not always have my gas tank on E.

What do you do to maintain balance and keep margin in check?

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

