Skip to content

The Quickie Workout

April 13, 2013

So often I don’t have time to get a full work out in. I have the best intentions to go for a 5-6 mile run, but life sneaks up on me and I find myself cooking dinner and finishing up work. Although, I love love love the Athletic Edge Combine Workout because it’s 30-45 minutes long and kicks my butt into shape. The downside is that there are days when I just don’t have the ability to make it to the gym but I know that some sort of workout is better than no workout.
What to do then? I do what I call the TV workout. If I’ve eaten dinner and am settling in for the night then I figure out what I need to focus on and I do reps during the TV breaks. On average an hour long show will have 4-5 commerical breaks that last anywhere from 2-7 minutes long. I put together a list of quick and easy exercises that I can do at home with no equipment and then do 10 – 20 reps or 30-45 seconds of each exercise during the commercial break. Here is a quick and dirty list of what you can do:

  • Plank
  • Side Plank
  • V-Ups
  • Bicycle Crunches
  • Supermans
  • Plie Squats
  • Plie Squats with Toe Raises
  • Squats
  • Squats with side kick
  • Tricep Dips (from couch/chair)
  • Incline Push-ups (side of couch/chair)
  • Push-ups
  • Forward Stepping Lunges
  • Backward Stepping Lunges
  • Side to Side Lunges
  • Burpees
  • Mountain Climbers

What do you do when you don’t have time to get a full work out in?

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

