Skip to content

Roasted Blackened Pumpkin Seeds Recipe

October 15, 2013

Halloween is almost here and with it comes one of my favorite Halloween traditions, pumpkin carving. This afternoon I dug elbows deep into two large pumpkins and harvested about 4 cups of thick oblong shaped seeds that I’m going to use for my mid-afternoon snacks and to garnish salads in the months to come.

Instructions: Pre-heat your oven to 250 degrees.

  • Remove as much pulp from the pumpkin seeds as possible and spread the seeds out on a cookie sheet or tray.
  • Roast for 30-45 minutes. Stir them once or twice to keep them from sticking to the pan and to roast them evenly.

Add seasoning or flavor to make them an even yummier treat!

  • Pull out the pan after about 10-15 minutes of roasting. You want the speeds to still be a little bit moist so the seasoning will stick, but not soaking wet! Sprinkle your favorite seasoning on top. Stir the seeds. Put them back in the oven and continue roasting until the seeds are crisp and golden.

Pumpkin Seed Nutritional Information, based on a 1 ounce serving size:


Roasting the seeds in our house made it officially smell like fall. On a side note, if you’re like me and you’ve got a dog, pumpkin is a great source of fiber and so I separately roasted some of the pumpkin to mix in with my dog food. I add a few tablespoons to my pups kibble and it helps keep the bum scootchin across my floor to a minimum! </p>

From → Recipes

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

