Skip to content

Relieving Itchy Mosquito Bites

December 16, 2013

Some people have sweet skin and blood and seem to attract mosquitos and other biting insects. I would be one of those people. On a recent vacation I was the mosquito magnet for the group and while my husband didn’t get a single bite I wound up with 30-40 bites on each leg and bites surrounding my elbows. Evidently its been a while since I’ve had so many bites, but I really didn’t remember it itching as badly as it does. I find myself waking up in the middle of the night itching up a storm and scratching the bites until they are huge and swollen.

Mosquito Bite Remedy: Fresh Wedge of a Lemon or Lime

I was trying so hard the other day not to scratch the bites and was at my wits end and asked a women where the nearest Drug Store was to buy some calamine lotion, and she grabbed a LIME and told me to rub it all over the bite and to hold it there for 2-3 seconds. The lime burned like crazy for 30-45 seconds, but then the itchiness went away. Hmph! It worked. For the next 2 hours my bites weren’t itchy.

Halleluhjah! 2 hours of itch free freedom.

Why do Mosquito Bites Itch

When a mosquito bites you its saliva contains and anti-coagulant so that they can get as much blood as necessary for their meal. Our immune systems produce histamine to try to combat the foreign substance. The blood vessels that were opened by the mosquito swell, and the reaction of the histamine causes the red itchy bump. (The bump is called a wheal.) Because the blood vessels swell the nerves become irritated and this causes the itchy feeling.

Now you know! Lemon or Lime juice works as a temporary relief. Now if only I can find something that lasts through the night!

From → Food & Nutrition

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

