Skip to content

DIY Coconut Oil Sugar Scrub

January 1, 2015
Here is the final product!, a rosemary and mint sugar scrub. Made with sugar, coconut oil, almond oil, salt, Vitamin E, Rosemary & Spearmint Essential Oils.

This fall I noticed that my hands were dry and my skin was flaky and dull. It didn’t look nice and at times it became painful as my skin cracked from being so dry. I decided to do something about it by using simple sugar scrubs to help me moisturize and exfoliate away the dead skin cells.

I saw sugar scrubs in stores like Bath & Body Works but they wanted $15-$20 for a small container so I had always shied away from purchasing them. But then one night the TV was on in the background and the Shark Tank featured a story about a women who was funded and now was making millions off of selling a sugar scrub that she had made from ingredients in her kitchen. I did a few quick Google searches and found a slew of recipes — went to the kitchen and started experimenting with different combinations of oils until I found the combination that I liked best in terms of how oily my skin felt after washing the scrub off of my hands. I would recommend playing around with your oil combinations until you find a combination that you like!

Ingredients for making a simple sugar scrub

How to Make a Simple Sugar Scrub

The recipe below makes roughly 3 x 8 ounce jars of sugar scrub.

Time: 5-10 minutes

Core Sugar Scrub Ingredients:

  • Coconut Oil
  • Sugar – Cane Sugar or Brown Sugar
  • Sea Salt – don’t use table salt, the refining process removes the beneficial properties from the salt

Additional Sugar Scrub Ingredients:

  • Other Oils: Olive Oil, Grapeseed Oil, Almond Oil, Avocado Oil, Jojoba Oil, Argan Oil, etc
  • Honey  (Antibacterial / Antimicrobial properties)
  • Vitamin Oils (Vitamin A, Vitamin E , Vitamin C, etc)
  • Essential Oils

Ratios for Sugar Scrub

  • 2 parts of Sugar to 1 part coconut oil
  • 1/4 to 1/2 part secondary oil if an additional oil is used
  • For a more exfoliating scrub: Add 1-2 tablespoons of Sea Salt per cup of Sugar
  • 6-10 drops of Essential Oils for scent

Instructions for Making a Sugar Scrub

How to make a simple sugar scrub. Mixing in the sugar with softened coconut oil.

Put Coconut Oil in a bowl. Heat in microwave for 10-15 seconds then stir. You want it to be soft but not 100% melted. Repeat until the coconut oil softens. If you are going to add honey or a secondary oil like olive oil, almond oil, or avocado oil, or essential oils or vitamin oils I’d recommend adding them now before you add the sugar. This is so you can make sure that all of the ingredients are fully mixed together and evenly distributed before you add the sugar.
Stir in the Sugar and any additional ingredients and whip together until they are light and fluffy! If you want some additional texture you can chop up herbs and add them directly into the scrub. I like to chop up rosemary leaves for my rosemary mint scrub so it adds some color and texture. 🙂
Place in an air tight jar.
The scrub should be able to store up to 2 months, but if you’re like me it won’t last that long.

<h3>Other helpful information for making scrubs</h3>

Where did I get my ingredients? From the cooking section of my local grocery store. I found that Whole Foods has a great selection of low priced essential oils and has some of the additional vitamin oils that can be added into the scrub too. I also found that if you buy coconut oil from the cooking section it costs less per pound and is exactly the same as the coconut oil in the “beauty” section of the store.

I also discovered from that you want to find oils that were extracted with either cold pressed or CO2-extracted. When oils are extracted with high heat it removes most of the beneficial nutrients and properties so try to avoid them. Cold pressed is ideal, but CO2-extracted oils are also allowed in certified-organic products.

Why use different oils in addition to coconut oil?

<Bold>Olive oil </bold>is great for very dry skin. When I used olive oil I used 1/4 – 1/2 part olive oil to each part of coconut oil. That being said, it leaves your skin feeling more oily and can separate from the coconut oil and sugar scrub in the jar. I’ve shied away from using olive oil in my most recent scrubs in part because my skin doesn’t need that extra bit of moisturizer right now.

I’ve been favoring <bold>sweet almond oil</bold> and <bold>avocado oil</bold> in my scrubs because I like their scent and they absorb into the skin quickly. When I use either almond or avocado oil in my scrubs I use 1/2 to 2/3rds part to each 1 part of coconut oil.

For vitamin oils I’ll add 10-15 drops of vitamin oil to the overall mixture. I’m still trying to figure out how much should be added to be the most beneficial for my skin.

Enjoy!

From → Arts & Crafts

One Comment
  1. Thank you so much for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

